Accreditation is an endorsement of a certification body’s independence, integrity and technical competence. Most importantly, accreditation provides a certification body with a trust mark and confidence to offer its services nationally and globally.

About the Schemes

The accreditation programmes under Certification includes Product Certification, Quality Management System, Environmental Management System, Occupational Safety and Health Management System, Food Safety Management System based on ISO 22000 and HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points), Business Continuity Management System, Energy Management System, Good Distribution Practice for Medical Devices and Quality Management for Bunker Supply Chain, Water Efficiency Management System, Learning Providers, Multi-tiered Cloud Computing Security, End-of-Life ICT Equipment Management, Asset Management, Medical Device-Quality Management System, Auditing Organisation, Anti-Bribery Management System and Certification of Persons.
Launched in October 1996, the Accreditation Scheme for Quality Management System Certification Bodies aims to uphold the standards of certification activities in Singapore. The scheme was extended in August 2003 to cover the certification of bunker suppliers, in a show of support for the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore’s initiative to highlight Singapore’s status as a bunkering hub. In April 2008, the scheme was further extended to cover the certification of good distribution practice of medical devices (GDPMDS). This was an effort to support the Health Sciences Authority’s initiative to ensure the quality and integrity of medical devices throughout the distribution process.
The Accreditation Scheme for Environmental Management System Certification Bodies and the Accreditation Scheme for Product Certification Bodies were launched in November 1999 and November 2001 respectively. The latter was extended in April 2009 to cover the certification of ready-mixed concrete in a bid to support the Building and Construction Authority’s initiative to ensure high quality of ready-mixed concrete. The Accreditation Scheme for Product Certification Bodies also includes the British Retailer Consortium (BRC) Certification for food product safety.
In July 2005, the Accreditation Scheme for Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Management System was launched, followed by the Accreditation Scheme for HACCP based Food Management System in September 2005. The accreditation scheme for food safety management system (ISO 22000) was launched in October 2006 while the accreditation scheme for business continuity management (BCM) was launched in April 2010.
The accreditation programme for Energy Management System was launched in July 2012, followed by Water Efficiency Management System in June 2013. These programmes were launched to support the increasing demand and need to optimize our limited resources and the "Green" movement.
The accreditation scheme for Certification of Persons was launched in August 2013. This new scheme aims to increase the industry's confidence in personnel certification, by providing third-party assuance of the competency and impartiality of accredited Perosnnel Certification Bodies.
In 2014, SAC launched the accreditation programmes for Learning Services Providers, Multi-Tiered Cloud Computing Security and End-of-Life ICT Equipment. The accreditation programme for Asset Management was launched in 2015. 

Accreditation Criteria

Certification bodies must meet international standards, such as:
  • ISO/IEC 17021-1, Conformity Assessment – Requirements for Bodies Providing Audit and Certification of   
    Management Systems – Part 1: Requirements and the applicable IAF Mandatory documents, and/or
  • ISO/IEC 17065, General Requirements for Bodies Operating Product Certification Systems along with the corresponding IAF Guidance documents, and/or
  • ISO/TS 22003, Food safety management systems – Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety management and related SAC documents and/or
  • ISO/IEC 17024, Conformity Assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons.
Certification bodies are assessed based on their independence, integrity and technical competence. They have to demonstrate a level of competence, within their area of operation and the audit organisations’ management systems, that fulfils the requirements of ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 22000 or other international standards.
All certification bodies are eligible to apply for the above accreditation schemes.


Accreditation will:
  • Increase confidence

Widely recognised by regulators and the industry, SAC accredited certificates instil greater confidence  in those who choose to engage the services of SAC accredited certification bodies.

  • International recognition

As a member of the Multilateral Recognition Arrangement (MLA) for Quality Management System, Food Safety Management System, Environmental Management System and Product Certification of the Pacific Accreditation Cooperation (PAC) and the International Accreditation Forum (IAF), certificates issued by SAC-accredited certification bodies are globally recognised by MLA members that span across 38 economies.


Upon receiving the application for accreditation, qualified assessors are assigned to assess the system of operations of the certification body and the competence of the auditors. This will be carried out through a document review, assessments at the certification body’s office as well as on-site witnessed assessments of audits – all conducted by the certification body. When the certification body has demonstrated compliance with our requirements, it will be recommended for accreditation. Once approved, SAC will grant a certificate of accreditation.  The detailed description of the type of assessment is stipulated in CT 01, Accreditation Process. 
The detailed description of the accreditation process can be seen below: